Video

The Meaning of Life

“Life only goes around once but never again”

I was bawling at two minutes. I’m always a sucker for love stories.

This made me really think: our time here on Earth is limited. When you’re young (invincible 20’s), you feel like you have your whole life ahead. But time is ticking by the second. I’m not trying to take this in a pessimistic direction; instead, I am reminding myself and sharing with you all to cherish every day, experience and people you interact with. In the midst of college, examinations, career preparation, and future planning I lose sight of this and it makes me really sad. To me, building relationships with other people is the meaning of life. Whether this is with your significant other, family, best friends, coworkers, acquaintances, neighbors, professors, teachers, mentors.. every one you get to interact with. I think this is the meaning of life because when I imagine asking myself at age 75 what is worth living for, I would answer ‘all the people that you get to meet and interact with’.

Fred described losing Lorraine as “like a dream”. I don’t think this feeling is inescapable once we lose someone… but taking the time and effort to cherish your relationship with others will surely eliminate any regrets that you may get about life and love.

I am fortunate to be a part of a group called Buckeye Leadership Fellows. We took a day trip to Cary, North Carolina to present to a company called SAS (Statistical Analysis System). An Ohio State alumnus (& former Stater!), Kirk Warner spearheaded the effort to bring the junior cohort down there. He gave a little speech about leadership. A quote he shared spoke volumes to me. “Princess Diana cared, but Mother Teresa took them home.” Effective leadership includes the principle of caring. You know you’re a good leader when other people do stuff for you not because you demand them to, but because they do not want to disappoint you. This starts with caring and building a genuine relationship with people. SAS’s company culture believes in this principle and you can clearly tell.

1909399_10152272130061187_1441112737_o
(Not everyone is pictured. Aka all the boys)

Warner also encouraged us to find some like-minded people and have deep conversations about big ideas. I have so much love for everyone in this group and cannot wait to see what lies ahead.

Life mantras to follow:
Don’t make enemies.
Love every one.
Always be positive and happy.
Care.

Leave a Reply

