Day 20 (Thursday, May 22): Airport Security at the Movies

Woke up an hour ahead of my alarm. I’ve learned to leave the AC off and put the fan on a little higher to make the conditions more comfortable to sleep in. Fell back asleep and woke up again at 7:15am (real alarm). Feeling very refreshed and energized – even had time to read a case study on leprosy. I think I might choose to do my final project on this. The disease is a mix of microbiology and neuroscience, which I find very fascinating. And it’s exciting that we have the opportunity to visit a leprosy hospital today! Breakfast around 8:45am: omelet and two pancakes. Took group photo in front of the library by a professional photographer.

(16)Bus ride was long – a little more than an hour. Saw their College of Nursing and medical college.

IMG_1170IMG_1172Followed guy in a white coat to a lecture room.

IMG_1175Went to the bathroom in someone’s office.

IMG_1176

Refreshments were served: lime juice and a cookie.

IMG_5594The guy in the white coat talked for a little.

IMG_1179We saw a video about the history of the campus and Father Muller (German. Heal and comfort, selfless service, putting patients before self, compassionate care). Dr. Kamath then delivered a powerpoint on leprosy. I knew about half the info because of reading the case study this morning. Hehe.

  • Communicable- spread by droplets, contact.
  • Numbers are coming down into the double digits. On the elimination (1 case per 10,000). WHO is donating meds, which helps the decreasing cases.
  • Myths- curse of God, past sins. Failure to appreciate the social and psychological factors.
  • 750 beds
  • Medical college (2001). Hostel for 1500 students.
    Homeopathic medicine.
  • Occupational rehab. Run a store (sell item as service. Patients receive profit).

IMG_1197

  • Braces (equalize pressure on foot).

IMG_1203

  • Visited some patients.
    IMG_1211
  • India has 60% of cases.
  • Signs- White patch. Test: close eyes, cotton feather or pen, no pain sensation. Hypo-pigmented, nodule in ear lobe, acid fast bacilli, nerves sensory loss, weak muscles, foot drop, hand drop, absorption of fingers (no blood supply, no nerve. No need to amputate because not spreading), claw hand (ulnar and median nerve), thickened nerve in elbow.
  • 1st stage: sensation loss (housewife move hot pot and don’t feel). Can reverse. 5th stage: irreversible disability.
  • Everything is free. Vaccine in trial.

Slept on the way home. Ate lunch in cafeteria with Dr. Kamath. Food tasted really good because it was already 3pm when we ate.

Back to room for about an hour. I continued reading case studies. Now, neglected tropical diseases really interest me.

Tea time 5:15pm: pizza roll-like bread and cake.

IMG_5596Ran into Paul at tea time and had a sincere conversation about our future careers, movies, and aspects of this trip. Walked up to the second floor of the cafeteria to find about seven of our classmates sitting waiting for food. I decided to try the aloo patty at Subway for dinner because it was the sub of the day and Sahanna had previously raved about it. I didn’t know what to expect, but it tasted just like hash brown! I like this better than chicken breast. Subway (with an Indian twist) might be one of the best things I’ve had here. Haha.

IMG_5597

Everyone went to the movie theater to watch X-men in 3D. At first, I wasn’t too enthused about the movie choice because I never watched the X-men series and thought I wasn’t intrigued by superhero movies, but boy was I wrong. The ticket cost 180 rupees ($3 USD). They assign seats upon purchasing the movie ticket. I sat with Kelsey and Lauren.

Entering the INOX movie theater, a couple of fast food restaurants line the perimeter. To the right, begins the line through security. The first guy rips the ticket. Then, stop by a counter where the women check inside your bags. I had gum and my camera battery confiscated. The language barrier was a problem, and I didn’t understand what she wanted me to do about it. Thankfully, a girl behind me in line helped me out and said they’ll keep it at the counter and a matching tag will be handed to me, so that I can pick it up after the movie. I walked through the metal detector and then another personnel waved a wand around my body, just like airport security. We couldn’t bring water in. The US should adopt some of these procedures in light of the recent movie theater shootings. After this, we were finally able to walk up the stairs. Kelsey R said I looked traumatized by the experience. Haha. There was a typical concession stand of movie theater food.

IMG_5600Inside, the auditorium felt just like the US. Attendants showed us to our seats and offered a menu for food. Three previews played.

IMG_5598Overall, the movie far exceeded my expectations. I loved the humanitarian aspect – lots of deep quotes. The narration at the beginning and end of the movie was superb. I found myself nodding my head a couple times. I liked the tie to science also – DNA and mutations. Here are some quirky notes about Indian movie theaters:

  • When someone on the screen smokes, a PSA pops up “Smoking is injurious to your health”. I like this a lot.
  • They silenced out a swear word (f#$%).
  • The audience really likes cheering and laughing when the parts aren’t really that funny.
  • Intermission in the middle of the movie. I surprisingly liked this. Affords a bathroom break and builds up anticipation for the second part.

Random: I liked the small amount of Vietnamese spoken in the movie. Haha. I’ve never experienced that before.

In the bathroom, they had square toilets and toilet paper!

IMG_5599Lauren, Kelsey and, I individually took a pic of the bathroom and we shared this factoid after coming out and Lauren was like “we’re soul mates”. Rickshaw back with Lindsey and Taniqua. Washed clothes, showered, skyped mom and got all caught up on the word doc journal!

Leave a Reply

